Mayor & City Council

   Steve Talt             Mayor

Steve Talt, Council Member

Dr. Steven Huang          Vice Mayor

Dr. Steven Huang, Council Member

Susan Jakubowski      Council Member

Council Member Jakubowski

    Gretchen       Shepherd Romey Council Member

City Logo

     Ken Ude        Council Member   

Council Member Ken Ude


Governing the City of San Marino is a City Council of five members, elected by the people for a four-year term, at elections held in November of odd calendar years. These five council members serve without any financial compensation and elect one of their own members as Mayor. The current members are:

About the Mayor & Council

San Marino was formed to protect your personal rights and to control the growth and activities of the city in such a way that each individual resident will be guaranteed a pleasant place in which to live with a minimum of nuisance and with assurance that his property values will be protected by stringent zoning regulations.

It is your City Council's desire to acquaint the old and new residents with the history and background of San Marino, its many advantages, and some of your responsibilities as a citizen.

Calling on Government

May we take this opportunity to extend to all San Marinans a cordial invitation to call on any branch of your city government to aid you in any service we can offer you. This is your city, and the friendly and courteous city employees are happy to assist you in enjoying your own hometown of which we are all so proud.


The principles upon which the first City Council established San Marino in 1913 have been followed through the ensuing 100 years. The founders of this city wished it to be uniquely residential - single-family homes on large lots surrounded by beautiful gardens, with wide streets and well maintained parkways. There were to be no manufacturing districts, heavy business areas or any apartment houses or duplexes. To maintain these standards, the City Council has continued to pass and enforce strict zoning regulations.


To leave a message for a council member, call the city clerk at 626-300-0705.